LibGuides: Biological Sciences : Find an Original Research Article

Article Types

You may be required to distinguish between original research articles and review articles.

Original research articles are based on a study or experiment with a hypothesis. The authors will report the purpose of the study, the research methodology, and results.

Non-original research articles include meta-analyses and reviews. These articles summarize or synthesize content from earlier published research and are useful for surveying the literature on a specific research area.

Databases

1) Access to databases is available from the library home page using the Quick Search. Go to our databases Subject page for other options. View a video (below) to learn basic database searching tips.

2) Below are direct links to some databases for research in the Natural Sciences. Some of these databases have full-text immediately available. Others use the UCe-Links button. Click on the UCe-Links button next to an article to check if our library has full-text access. Example: ScienceDirect (also all full-text), BioOne (citations with UC-eLinks).

3) If searching from off-campus, download the VPN to your own computer in order to get access.

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
A general, multidisciplinary database with full text content in the social sciences, humanities and sciences.

Biosis Citation Index (Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
1926 - present. Supports access, research and discovery in the life sciences. Indexes 5,300 journal titles and 22 million records. Includes conference proceedings, books and patents. Biosis Previews are included in Biosis Citation Index.

PLOS-Biology
PLOS (Public Library of Science) Biology is a peer-reviewed, open-access journal featuring research articles of exceptional significance in all areas of biological science, from molecules to ecosystems.
PubMed
PubMed is a database of biomedical references from the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM) and developed by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). MEDLINE is the largest component of PubMed with records extending back to the mid 1960s.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect provides full text access to articles in the areas of science, technology, medicine and social sciences. Note that article titles are followed by designation of "Review Article" or Original Research Article".
Web of Science (ISI Web of Knowledge)
Web of Science is a comprehensive database of citations from a broad range of topic areas.

5200 N. Lake Road
Merced, CA 95343
library@ucmerced.edu
(209) 228-4444